Copy Cat

graphic design, Uncategorized

The third assignment we were given was to replicate a page of a magazine as closely as possible. We were only able to use Times New Roman and Helvetica fonts, Times for Serif  and Helvetica for Sans-Serif type. This definitely helped me learn much more about InDesign and made me pay more attention to specific details. The one on the left is the original and the right is my replication. The most difficult part of this assignment was to pay special attention to the spacing in between each letter (kerning) and the space between each line (leading). Another challenge was getting the graphics and colors to look the same also. There are some details in the green header I would change/add to get it closer to the original, but other than that I was pretty happy with the red graphic near the headline of the page. This assignment really opened my eyes to how much special attention to detail goes into creating a layout for a page and how the smallest change can affect the whole tone or flow of the piece.

3 thoughts on “Copy Cat

  1. Nice job on the replication, Chris! I set type for eight years and know firsthand how important it is to be attentive to every minute detail. Being restricted to only two fonts certainly complicates the assignment as you attempt to manage line and letter spacing that varies from the original typefaces, but I think you did a great job.

    Like

  2. Magazine layout has become my personal favorite in graphic design, so I love the idea of this assignment! When I first saw the two I had to really concentrate to figure out which was the replicate. Obviously because you have some really simple fonts, that made it clear. Also the E’s gave it away. Really impressed by your red pentagon near the top! There’s a lot of information going on in the original… you handled it nicely 🙂

    Like

  3. I had to design an Esquire page too! I think you did a great job replicating all of the little elements that they tend to utilize, like font styles and color. Your page looks nearly identical.

    Like

Leave a comment